Blog Feed

Picasso

On this day in 1901, a 19 year old young man by the name of Pablo Picasso had his first exhibition in Paris.  I must confess, I haven’t ever been a HUGE fan of the artist – but after reading more about him, I think I may reconsider.  You see,  it has been said that Picasso had a number of passions in life – including his art,  his image, women AND dogs!  Who knew he was a big lover of canines?  He reportedly owned many different breeds and was said to always get a NEW breed because he wanted each dog to be an “individual” and he “didn’t want to live with the ghosts of other dogs.”  Interesting. Breeds he owned included terriers, poodles, afghans, a boxer, a German Shepherd and Dachshunds – including one named Lump.  Lump was featured in many of Picasso’s paintings, and there is even a book about Picasso and Lump.  Apparently, Picasso “borrowed” dogs from friends – and then often kept them – that’s how he got Lump.  If you Google “Picasso and Lump” – you can see many photos of the pair.  Many of his paintings featured other dogs as well.

So Picasso had lots of breeds – but no PON or Picard. Too bad for him. 

Well it’s Saturday – time to get my human up and moving.  No point in wasting a perfectly good day off!  And all this talk of art – let’s just SEE what I can create today.   Besides havoc.

Have a good one!

terriers, Poodles, a Boxer, Dachshunds, a German Shepherd, Afghan Hounds
terriers, Poodles, a Boxer, Dachshunds, a German Shepherd, Afghan Hounds
terriers, Poodles, a Boxer, Dachshunds, a German Shepherd, Afghan Hounds

Let it go…

According to the crazy calendar, today is Let It Go day.  I’m assuming it is a day to let small problems go – and to let bygones be bygones.  Humans DO tend to carry around “stuff” that they shouldn’t – they really need to be more like us canines.

Now that’s NOT to say that we dogs don’t SOMETIMES carry a grudge – or act a bit cranky.  Some dogs ignore their human if the human was away on a trip – and the dog didn’t get to go.  Usually we may be cranky for a day or so – but we then forget about it – and we basically let it go.  We may also be cranky if another dog gets an extra treat and we don’t – that sometimes happens here.  We also may be cranky if one dog gets a longer walk.  But within minutes, we let it go.  And honestly, we don’t think about it again.  We don’t think “Hey last week HE got a longer walk.”  And it’s NOT like we don’t remember things – we dogs have GREAT memories.  If we found a treat in a certain area- we’ll go back to look there later.  We DO remember.  We just choose NOT to hold onto “stuff.” Other than our bones…

But humans – well they have a hard time “letting go.”  But really, if they DID, they would probably have fewer health problems – fewer headaches and stomach aches.  Bottom line, they just need to be a LOT more like us dogs.  Wag more.  Bark less. Roll in the freshly mowed grass.  Play ball…

So let it go today.  And have a good one!

Emergency training. Call 911….

Well here is an interesting tidbit in the world of dog news… It seems researchers at the Georgia Institute of Technology Animal-computer Interaction Lab are working on ways to help us dogs call for help – in the event that our human needs assistance.  They are training canines to use dog-friendly touchscreens to dial 911.  They also have these cool high tech vests for dogs, equipped with sensors.  If there is an emergency the dog tugs a rope that is on his vest and it activates a sensor on the vest which communicates with a computer in the vest.  The computer will then either make a call, send a text or will even broadcast an audio message. 

This all sounds so exciting and progressive and such a cool technological advancement in canine communication.  What a far cry from Lassie running for help and barking when Timmy fell down the well. 

But seriously.  I can’t EVER see it working for any of the dogs in THIS house.  I mean the FG would chew the tug with the sensor within 3 minutes.  And I can see Einstein smashing his face into a touchscreen and barking madly.  And he would no doubt figure out how to call numbers OTHER than 911.  I can see the phone bill now.  Not to mention accidental calls for help – which are CLEARLY dangerous, and which could probably result in some hefty fines. We love our human – but counting on us in an emergency…well…remember how Einstein and I  stood and stared at her when she broke her wrist a couple of years ago?  We obviously need more emergency training….and hopefuly we don’t need it any time soon!

Have a good one.

The alien

June 21.  Well it is official.  The first day of summer and the longest day of the year.  And of course, it’s National Daylight Appreciation Day.  Here in Nova Scotia, the sun will rise at 5:28 and set at 9:02.  Of course, it is light out even before 5:28.  That’s why we continue to get my human up at 5AM.  No point in wasting a perfectly good day.

So yesterday we met an alien.  That’s what I’m calling him.  And my human was totally, completely, thoroughly disgusted and grossed out…

She was petting the FG while she was eating her breakfast.  Breakfast is a one-handed meal – as her non-dominant hand is used to pet the FG.  He pokes her and puts his paw on her arm if she doesn’t pet him.  As I have said – he has her VERY well trained.  So she was scratching his ears, and rubbing him under his chin and patting his head and she ran her hand down his side.  And she felt a lump.  A BIG lump.  So she got up and parted the hair on his ribs – and that’s when she saw it.  The alien.  A TICK.  The size of an orange.  OK.  Not that big.  Maybe the size of a grape.  OK.  A blueberry.  But STILL – it was the biggest tick she has ever removed.  She whisked him onto the grooming/operating table in the garage and searched for the serious tick removal tool.  It looks like a pair of scissors and it has a magnifying glass on it.  She didn’t need the magnifying glass – it was CLEAR what she was dealing with.  She got a hold of the alien and pulled him off.  Then what to do with him?  Last time she smashed a tick intruder into pulp – but this one was big – and she did NOT want to see what inside HIM.  So.  She flushed him.  She cleaned the area and put on some antibiotic cream.  The FG stood like a soldier – he was SO good.  She then took the dryer with the airplane motor – the one that blows enough air to send a chihuahua flying – and checked him all over for any relatives of the alien.  None. 

And in that momentary instant, my human was wishing for a cold snowy day – one without ticks.  But the thought quickly passed – and we’ll take the long balmy days of summer. For at least a FEW weeks!

Happy summer!  Have a good one.

Recipes. SO easy. Even MY human could make them…

June 20.  And according to the crazy calendar, it is Plain Yogurt Day.  A day to celebrate plain yogurt.  With parties and parades.  Just kidding.  I don’t KNOW of any yogurt parades…but maybe there IS one.  Somewhere.  Anyway, in honor of yogurt – here are links to four EASY recipes for frozen dog treats with plain yogurt.  They are SO easy, even MY human could make them.  Could being the operative word.  If she can find the time.  Maybe on the weekend….

http://irresistiblepets.net/2014/09/diy-frozen-apple-dog-treat-recipe/

http://thebark.com/content/simple-frozen-yogurt-treats

http://www.akc.org/kids-corner/games-activities/dog-crafts-recipes/frozen-pumpkin-dog-treats/

https://brucebradley.com/recipes/blueberry-banana-frozen-dog-treats/

If you try them and you like them – let me know – and spread the word.  If you don’t like them, don’t tell anyone I told you about them…

Have a good one!

MORE Viktionary

So the weather forecast is calling for a VERY rainy day.  Despite that, my human and the special visitors are heading out on the road to tour a bit of Nova Scotia.  Better them than us, we would rather not go out in the rain unless we absolutely have to. So because it’s a busy day – time for some Viktionary terms. 

rePEEt   v.  to take turns with our canine friends and siblings in a friendly competition of who can pee on the same spot – last. 

shpanting v.  the action of shmearing your wet face in your human’s clean pants.  Elroy is AWESOME at doing this!!!

squeaquest    v.  to walk around the house squeaking as if we are asking for something.  Despite the fact that we have been walked, fed, have played ball for an hour and there is nothing physically wrong with us.  It is an excellent attention grabbing action.

strat-i-lie   v.   to strategically lie in a location that causes the most inconvenience for our human.  For example, in front of the sink when she is attempting to do the dishes, or in front of the stove when she is cooking.

supersonic auditory edible detection   n.  the ability to hear another dog eating a biscuit, no matter where we are in the house.  Which results in IMMEDIATE movement to that dog.  And the initiation of crumb radar.

surploop   n.  the extra or surplus pooping that we do two minutes after we initially poop – and our human has already tied a strong knot in the poop bag.
In this list, it is hard to pick a favorite.  The FG is THE king of shpanting.  He did it before my human left for work yesterday.  Honestly, she should wear a hazmat suit OVER her work clothing – until she gets out the door.  Once upon a time I used to think he was just a fashion critic, checking out what she is wearing.  Now I realize he just likes to shpant her.  Plain and simple.

My other favorite is surploop.  Einstein is a PRO at this one.  As SOON as he poops and my human has picked up the deposit, AND has tied the poop bag, he will walk a bit further – and poop again.  We really should have stock in those Dollar Store poop bags.  My human goes in and buys BOXES at a time.  And the clerks look at her like she must own a zoo.  And they’re actually not far off!
Have a good one!

Veggies…..

June 16.  And according to the crazy calendar, it’s Fresh Veggies day.  And don’t we LOVE fresh veggies?  Well at least Einstein and I do.  The FG has a different procedure for eating veggies – take a carrot for example. The FG has to toss it, lick it, roll on hit, chew it, spit it, and finally eat it.  This holds true for almost all veggies.  There are LOTS of veggies that are good for us dogs – like carrots, celery, sweet potatoes, cucumbers, green beans,  peas and potatoes.  As with anything – we should probably eat veggies in moderation – because too much MIGHT upset our stomachs.  And there are some we should NEVER eat – like onions.  Tomatoes are OK – but the green parts of the plant CAN make us sick.  One source said that asparagus is OK, but too tough to be eaten raw.  Guess they never met the power chewers in THIS house.

And speaking of eating – the FG has a new habit.  He has TOTALLY trained my human. 
 He has started this new thing where he won’t eat his supper.  He just stares at it.  Or lies down next to his food bowl.  So of COURSE, the first time he did this, my human tried to feed him by HAND.  So yup – you guessed it – he now will not eat his supper unless she feeds him. And then he eats the WHOLE thing!    He is really good at human training.

Well it’s Friday and I understand my human and her mother and her sister have some company arriving this weekend.  They are not staying with us – I think they value their sleep.  But it still looks like we might have to be on good behavior.  We’ll see….

Have a good one – and don’t forget to eat your veggies!!!

POTUS birthday

June 14.  And guess whose birthday it is?  Done other than the Donald. Nope – not Donald Duck.  Donald Trump.  POTUS.  He’ll be 71 today.  

I swore I would never talk politics again after someone berated me for doing so in the past.  Seriously. A guy berated a DOG for voicing his political opinion.  I mean COME ON.   Isn’t everyone entitled to an opinion?

I will NOT talk about mainstream media.  Or Russia.  Or investigations.  BUT I will point out a number of stories that indicated the Donald was going to get a dog.   I have read he was getting everything from a Border Collie to a Labradoodle.  I think it was fake news.   And it was probably started because the last 19 Presidents have owned dogs.  And if my resources are correct, 71% of all the Presidents have owned dogs.  Actually, the Donald is among a small group of Presidents who never owned ANY pet: he and James Polk.  Wait – Andrew Johnson was said to feed white mice he found in his bedroom.  So that’s not exactly what I would call being a pet owner.  Oh and Martin Van Buren owned some tiger cubs given to him as a gift – and he later donated them to a zoo.  Another quasi pet person.  The Donald needs to think about this.  Maybe a dog WOULD be good for him!  Just don’t pick me…

I want to be clear on something here – I’m not a Republican, Democrat, Green Party member, Liberal, Conservative, or Socialist.  I’m a Caninist.  I believe in equality for all dogs.  OK and cats too.  But not iguanas.   OK, OK, iguanas too.  I believe in equality for all.  All of us on this planet – humans, canines and even porcupines share two things in common.  We live.  And we die.  One of those we don’t generally control – but the other – well it is up to us how we use our time.  Every day is a gift.  We can focus on the puddles after the rain- or jump over them and continue on our walk.  We can growl and snap at others – but it won’t win us any friends.  We can hoard our treats – even though we have enough – or we can share them with others.  And in the end, it’s all about how NICE we have been – and how we have treated others.  We dogs get it.  We may be naughty at times – but underneath it all – we are NICE. 

So although I am not a fan of the Donald, my birthday wish for him is the ability to think like a dog.  Be nice.  And learn to wag instead of growling and snapping.  Trust me – it will make your life, and the lives of MANY others, so much better as well.

Hiccups

I

June 13.  And on this day in 1922, some poor fella by the name of Charlie Osborne started doing something that would end in a “record’ of sorts.  He began to hiccup.  And he didn’t stop for 68 years! Can you imagine?!  I mean CAN you imagine?!  Poor guy.  Apparently he died 11 months after they stopped. 

We dogs can get hiccups, and puppies are often prone to them.  Hiccups are usually caused by eating too quickly or by being too hyperactive and energetic.  Barking can also cause hiccups – because if you’re excited and barking, your breathing is affected.  Given these causes, Einstein should  have  chronic hiccups – he inhales his food and is always barking.  Another cause for hiccups is supposedly eating a food high in grain. 

To stop or prevent the hiccups, if your dog has then often, you should feed a low grain food and avoid foods that trigger hiccups.  Give your dog water – just like humans – to try and stop them.  Other suggestions include exercising your dog, to change his breathing pattern.  Take a walk or play fetch.  Another supposed cure is to feed him. Unless you what he eats triggers them – then I think you have a cycle going on!

None of us get hiccups very often.  In fact, I don’t think I have ever heard the FG hiccup.  Maybe he’s scared of me – so I frighten the hiccups out of him – like some humans try to do. I wonder how many different cures Charlie tried?!  And what finally caused them to stop.  Maybe he got a dog.  We can cure lots of human ailments.  Although sometimes we add to them…At least in this house!

Have a hiccup-free day!

We survived Darth Vader


Well we survived.  No one ran (or fell) off a cliff, Elroy behaved at Aunt Glenda’s and my foot is feeling 1000% better.

On our last day – my human took us on another 5 AM hike – for probably 4 km.  And of course, the last of the obligatory photo shoots. This time she remembered to bring enough treats.

I must brag that on the way home, my behavior was again exemplary.  I went in my crate, and never made a peep.  That was in stark contrast to Einstein.  He continued to pant and squeak like he did on the way down.  And of course my human would worry that he needed to go out.  So she would pull over, get him out, and watch him trot around with NO need to pee or poop.  My human’s mother  at one point was really wishing we had that  recording of rain. 

On the way home, we stopped to pick up the FG.  He was beside himself when he saw my human – and happily jumped in his crate.  But here was the challenge.  There was enough room for two crates in the vehicle.  And clearly the FG needs a crate.  And my human knows that I  would be happy to be in the FRONT seat, if allowed to do so – so there was no way I was going to be allowed to be free.  My human figured that since Einstein was not happy in the crate anyway, he would be the best dog to sit in the back with my human’s mother… Well.  HOW do you spell fiasco?  If we thought the panting was bad before, while in his crate- he was nearly hyperventilating in the back seat.  My human thought SOMETHING must be wrong.  So yup – she pulled over again.  And again, he happily trotted around.  By this point there were three humans who were ready to tie him to the roof of the vehicle. Like something a politician would do – or like a scene from the movie “Vacation.”  My human’s sister and her mother traded places – so now her sister was in the back with Darth Vader.  He eventually settled down – only to rev up again when we were 15 minutes from home.  When we are at home, and Einstein is in a barking frenzy, all my human has to do is show him a squirt gun that she has.  She has only ever had to spray him once and now all she has to do is say “I’m getting the gun.”  That generally makes him quiet.  So what did she say in the vehicle?  “I’m getting the gun.”  Which was utterly ridiculous because she didn’t even HAVE the gun.  He didn’t give her a second look and continued his pant-squeak solo.  But you should have seen the looks on her mother’s and sister’s faces when she said it.  “It’s a SQUIRT gun” she exclaimed.

We were ALL happy to get home – and within 2 minutes, we were all sound asleep.  Adventures sure make one tired.  But they are SO worth it!  Even with a panting dog…

Have a good one!