Blog Feed

Relaxation

Today is August 15 and according to the crazy calendar, it is National Relaxation Day.  That is a pretty foreign concept in our house.  We canines like to keep busy – when our human is home.  When she’s not here, we usually relax – she can watch us via BiG Brother.  We are generally relaxing, although we do move around a bit and will chew on the odd nylon -type bone. Yes – we still have them lying around – it’s that or the furniture.  
But now if my HUMAN wants to relax she has found the best answer – those real raw bones.  Especially the big marrow bones.  Not for her – for us canines. If she wants a few minutes of relaxation, all she has to do is pass them out – and she is free to stretch out on the lounge chair on the deck ( the one she has caught us peeing on ) and she can actually READ a BOOK.  She was doing that the other day.  We were all busy chewing away.  She got all comfortable.  And got into reading her book.  And the skies were blue.  With a slight breeze.  The birds were singing.  And she was actually beginning to RELAX.  And clunk.  She heard a noise.  She looked up and there was the FG looking all confused.  He dropped his bone through the rails and off the deck.  We have a rather complicated gate system on the deck – so instead of battling with that, she went back in the house, out the front door, all around the house and had to go under the deck to find the missing bone.  So much for relaxation.  But she was successful and the FG was back in business.  This time my human directed him to lie down AWAY from the edge.
By the time she got all settled again, she looked at us and started wondering if we had been chewing long enough.  She read that some dogs get…uhhhhh….oh what the heck, just say it – soupy poops if they eat too much marrow – so she started wondering if we had had enough.  We certainly didn’t feel we had had enough but you know the Worry Wart – she started envisioning cling-ons and subsequent baths – so she decide we had enough for one day.  We reluctantly traded our bounty for measly treats.  And relaxation was over.  Now time to start bugging her for a walk.  Or a game of fetch.  Or better yet- some supper.  We feel relaxation is overrated.
Anyway, we will celebrate the day with an extra power snooze.  We DO rest sometimes while my human is home with us – just not for very long.  You know our motto Carpe Diem! 
Have a good one!  Peace and paws up.

Mud

Saturday it rained. Pretty much all day.  So yesterday morning, when we headed out for our walk, my human was not going to take us on the public trail, as she knew it would be wet and muddy. But we ended up running into Pig Pen.  That is going to be my new name for Jackson.  Now please don’t interpret that as a mean name- because we all LOVE Jackson.  He’s the PERFECT dog.  He comes when called. Can be walked off a leash.  He is SUPER friendly.  He’s VERY handsome.  As I said, he’s the PERFECT dog.  But as I mentioned when I talked about the deer flies – he can LOOK like the cartoon character when they fly around him.  Oh and I SHOULD mention Jackson’s ONE vice.  And only ONE.  He likes swamp water.  Not to drink – but to wander in.  The more green and muddy – the better.  So really, the name Pig Pen DOES fit  – at least at times. But I don’t want to offend him – so let’s call him Perfect Pig Pen.  That’s better.

So we ran into Perfect Pig Pen and his human, and they were headed down the trail, so we said we would join them.  Well – my HUMAN said we would.  I was happy to go – but Einstein was mortified.  Mud and puddles.  His worst nightmare.  He didn’t know WHERE to walk.  It was like watching a slow moving bag of potatoes – trying to calculate which direction to walk so he would not get wet.  OR dirty.  You know, my human sees pictures and videos of PONs who love mud, and puddles.  So they do exist.  But somehow Einstein is in a different league. Maybe he anticipates having a bath or a rinse after getting muddy – which frankly does NOT happen every time.  Who knows.  It was pretty embarrassing to watch him.  The one good thing – the flies must have still been asleep – they were no problem.  Perfect Pig Pen is able to walk off leash – but at one point, his human put him on a leash as we were approaching a VERY mucky, swampy area.  His human KNEW what would happen – so Perfect Pig Pen was  restrained for a short time.   And then he was again set free. Because he DOES behave.  Unlike some PONs and a Picard we know.

Looks like the weather ahead is going to be great.   Wonder what my human has planned for us.  You know, I JUST realized I have not given HER a nickname.  She suggested Saint.  I don’t think so.  I have to think about this….give me some time….

Have a good one!  Peace and paws up!

Deer flies. And the hooded stranger.


So sometimes I REALLY wonder about the FG.  He seems to be VERY smart sometimes.  And then other times…

It’s August.  And with August comes the arrival of some unwelcome guests.  In May it was the dreaded black flies.  Those guys are tiny, but love to bite – humans and animals alike. They have pretty much disappeared and NOW the dive bombing,  triangular-shaped flying piranhas have arrived.  The deer flies.  Google them if you’re not familiar with them.  And yes – they are as ugly as they look.  On a calm, hot sunny day, they can be a menace in wooded areas.  In fact, this week my human refused to take us on the public trail down the road certain mornings, because she can’t stand the idea of being swarmed.  As she walks, she watches them fly over her head like a group of aircraft, and quickly descend on us canines.  And it’s interesting – they prefer dark colors.  So between me and Einstein, I have more following me.  And heaven forbid our friend Jackson, the black Lab is out with us.  Ever see that character, Pig Pen in the Charlie Brown cartoons?   Where he is surrounded by particles of dirt?  Picture those particles being deer flies – all around poor Jackson.  The same used to be true for Paxton.  

The deer flies also LOVE to attack humans too.  Especially their heads.  So in the past few weeks, my human has been sporting a white hooded sweatshirt during our morning walks.  Now I don’t want to imply that these cannibals are EVERYWHERE – they seem to like certain areas along the public trail.   The swampy areas.  When my human does take us on the trail, she quickly pulls us along through those areas where they seem to be worse.  And of course, you KNOW that’s when we want to poop.  So she stands there with her hood up, praying that we go quickly, while trying to bat off any one that lands on us.

Anyway, this week, my human took the FG out for his walk.  They were walking along the paths at the golf course.  Suddenly, they reached an area where there were some flies.  So my human put up her hood.  So here we have Mr. Observant.  The guy who carefully watches every bird in the heavens.  Who studies blowing leaves.  And notices things like a garbage can placed in a new location.  They are happily walking along and my human puts up her hood.   He glances up, looks at her and jumps backward with his ears back and tail between his legs like he was meeting a burglar in a dark alley.  Seriously.  So my human puts down her hood – and keep in mind that her face was NOT covered, and he is all happy again.  I mean it’s not like he hasn’t seen her wearing a jacket with a hood.  Or a hat!  Honestly, this guy never ceases to interest me… Ya gotta love him… Maybe he was doing it just to be funny?  Suuuuuuuure he was…

Well another day of fetching ahead.  Hopefully my human can keep the fetch toy off the roof today… yup.  Never a dull moment!

Have a good one.  Peace and paws up!

 

The Quagga

August 12.  And did you know that on this day in 1883,  the last quagga died at a zoo in the Netherlands.  Don’t know what a quagga is?  Well no wonder.  They became extinct.  They were from Africa – and they looked kind of like zebras – except they were only striped on the front half of their bodies – and the rest of them was a solid brownish color.  Yup – today was the day they disappeared.  BUT – some good news.  Scientists are working with DNA and trying to “bring back” the quagga.  Now some argue that you can’t bring back the same species – but with some fancy selective zebra breeding, they are breeding animals that certainly LOOK like quaggas.   They are actually called Rau Quaggas – named after one of the scientists working on the project.  I guess they are quasi quaggas.

I’ve talked before about the fact that there are currently some dog breeds on the verge of extinction – and it’s a topic of relevance in our household because both Polish Lowland Sheepdogs AND Berger Picards were close to becoming extinct after WW II.  I think that’s probably the case with many rare breeds.  But a committed group of enthusiasts who love a breed, start looking at what they can do to save it.   And voila – because of the efforts of those early breeders, you are able read about the antics of two of these crazy rare breeds every day.  Sometimes my human understands why we nearly became extinct…

But the bottom line with purebred dogs – ALL purebred dogs, rare or not, is that people need to work together to save breeds from extinction.  Dog show ribbons are pretty – but beneath it all, health is what counts.  People have to be open,  and honest and breeders need to be selective – and KNOW what happens to their puppies.  Otherwise, we could go the way of the quagga…

OK. Time to get off my soapbox and go for a walk. Or play another game of fetch.  And TRY to stay  out of trouble, so I don’t become extinct.  Today.

Have a good one.  Peace and paws up!

Peter

On Tuesday, we had a much-needed rainy day.  Einstein wouldn’t agree, but in all honesty, we have had a lovely summer, with very little rain.  So Tuesday was a welcome day for gardeners and farmers.  
And you know what we were promised with the next rainy day?  A chance to play with the new bunny.  The stuffed bunny – in case you forgot.  You know the drill.  Two of us are sequestered in the front  hall while one of us gets to play.  We must sit and stay while the bunny is hidden in another room.  Yours truly got to play first.  Simply because my human would not have been able to bear the SCREAMING I would have done if someone else was first.  Yes.  I do tend to become a BIT dramatic when it comes to the stuffed bunny.  Anyway, I waited patiently when told to do so and once released form my stay, off I went to find Peter.  I must confess, it took me a little longer than normal to find him the first time, because he didn’t smell like dog slobber yet. But once I did, I RACED back into the dining room, squeaking his currently functioning noise maker.  We know that won’t last long.  I reluctantly traded him for a treat, and the game was repeated.  I got 6 tries and I quickly found him each time.  Then it was Einstein’s turn.  He’s a good bunny finder and quickly drops the bounty at my human’s feet – he’s more interested in the treat than in squeaking Peter.  And after 6 tries (yes, we count to make sure we each get the same number of attempts), it was the FG’s turn.  As soon as he was released from the hall, he went to look for the bunny.  Even though it had not yet been hidden.   My human called him and squeaked the bunny to let him know it wasn’t yet hidden.  He was too busy searching the bedroom.  My human had to go and get him and SHOW him the bunny, lead him back to the dining room and told him to sit and stay.  As you may recall in the early days, when he was young, she had to tie him to his crate to get him to stay while she hid the bunny.   Now he obediently stays in place.  And when my human comes back and says the magic words “Find the bunny!” he enthusiastically races off.  But  he was gone longer than normal.  My human had basically left the bunny for him in an easy spot in the other room, so he could easily find it.  And he found it. And when my human came in, he was tossing the rabbit in the air.  He had NO intention of bringing that bunny back to her.   She offered a treat to trade for the bunny, and he took it but looked like he was chewing hot tamales.  He didn’t WANT a treat.  He wanted the bunny.  I can’t remember how many turns he got before he decided to just attempt to rip the bunny’s head off.  Game over for him.
The only problem with renewing the bunny hunting game – the FG has now become VERY interested in the REAL bunnies.  As you may recall, he used to just sit and look at them.  Not so much now.  He REALLY wants to see them.  And the bunnies around here like to taunt us.  They seem to know when we are on a leash – and they sit and watch us.  They’re pretty brave.  But they better not let down their guard…
Happy Friday.  Have a good one.  Peace and paws up!

Spoiled dogs

Yesterday morning, we decided to get up early.  Well, I did – and so my human kindly joined me.  At 4:45.  She got dressed and went to take Einstein and me out for our morning constitutional.  It was still dark out, so my human was sporting her trusty headlamp.  And it was very peaceful and quiet.  We walked all the way down the road, but didn’t go on the trail as it was still dark.   We did our thing and my human scooped and carried our deposits back home. We were just approaching our driveway, and both of us stopped in the middle of the road.  And we were sniffing something.  My human had not noticed anything in the road on the way down, but clearly there was something there now.  So she began to pull us away.  And that’s when she realized what we were SO interested in.  A frog. A BIG frog.  About the size of my human’s fist.  So she pulled us back.  And at that point, the frog began to hop.  And that’s when Einstein went cray cray.  Barking and growling and pulling.  Like he just saw a bear.  Seriously.  It was a FROG.  And although I didn’t join the chorus, I was certainly pulling like mad as well.  My human had to hold on to the two of us with all her might.  And drag us down the driveway.  While the frog made his way across the road, not even realizing what a ruckus he had caused.  And which everyone within a 5 km radius probably heard – at 5:15 in the morning… Yup.  Never a dull (or quiet) moment.
I looked at the Crazy Calendar, and guess what today is? It is National Spoil your Dog Day.  My human burst out laughing when she saw that.  She says EVERY day is Spoil your Dog Day in this house.  I beg to differ – not on those days where we have to be groomed.   But otherwise, I must confess, we ARE just a little tiny bit spoiled.  Guess what she bought us now?  Big huge awesome marrow bones.  Yes.  We ARE spoiled.  And we sure are enjoying her vacation time.  
Anyway –  canines – stay spoiled and have a good one! Peace and paws up!

Dog news and extreme grooming

So do you recognize the name Abbie Girl?  You should if you follow dog news.  Abbie Girl is an Australian Kelpie, and on Saturday she won the 2nd Annual World Dog Surfing Championships in Pacifica, California.  And Abbie Girl also won last year.  Apparently dozens of dogs showed up for the competition.  Three judges decide who wins and dogs are judged on two things – whether they stay on the board and whether they look happy.   Abbie Girl competed solo on her own custom board.  Dogs can compete solo, with another dog, or with a human.

I think Einstein would be PERFECT for this competition.  HE hates the water and he will do ANYTHING to even avoid a puddle.  Which, in my mind, means that he would stay on that board no matter WHAT.  There are people who surf here in Nova Scotia, although the water would no doubt be a bit cooler than California.  I’ll have to take Einstein out to one of the popular surfing beaches and get him started.  Just have to get him a wet suit.

In other dog news, the last bath victim met his tub on Sunday night.  Einstein, like me, thought he was just going into the torture palace for a brushing.  Wrongo.  After the brushing came the bath. And the jet engine dryer.  And while he wasn’t THRILLED with the whole fiasco, my human showed him the following article and threatened that grooming could be SO much worse. Honestly, these dogs MUST have to undergo therapy after having this done to them.  And I thought having to wear a clip in my hair, or the dreaded Easter Bunny ears was bad!!!!  Sorry folks – but this REALLY is TOO TOO much. 

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-4767464/Photographer-captures-dogs-extreme-grooming.html

My human is still off – and we have actually been allowing her to sleep in until 5:30.  Yes, we can be thoughtful.  And the multiple games of fetch have been marvelous.  For those of us not on a long line.

Have a good one!  Peace and paws up!

Training. Picard 1. Human 0.

So you know how humans use this system of intermittent reinforcement to train us canines.  Or they THINK they are training us – but we know better.  Well let me tell you – we dogs do the same thing.  We give you a behaviour.  Like a good behaviour.  And so you humans THINK we will continue to give you that good behaviour.  Yeah – well don’t count on it…
So my human has been training the FG to fetch those orange bumpers – while on a long line.  And for quite a few nights now, he has been great at retrieving.  Well…maybe the word “great” is a stretch.  Pretty good is more like it.  He doesn’t ALWAYS bring it right back, but for the past little while he has not run off with it.  No disappearing act in the woods. No dashing down to the lake.  No escaping to the neighbours’ place.  He has been  good.  So Saturday night, he was watching me play fetch in the backyard.  He and Einstein were on the deck and watched as I crazily ran out and back NUMEROUS times to bring back the bumper.  I will play fetch until I am ready to drop from exhaustion.  My human has to be careful with me if it is warm out – we can’t play for very long.  But Saturday night it had begun to cool off, and it was perfect fetch weather.  The FG watched me and squeaked for his turn.  So after I was done, my human took me inside and took the FG out.  But this time, she decided NOT to put on the long line.  He’s been so well- behaved.  She figured she had “trained” him.  So she threw the toy.  And he ran out to get it.  And raced around to the backyard.  My human followed him and tossed the other toy.  ( We have two the same, so the game is continuous – bring one back and the other is thrown). And the FG raced off to get it.  And then,  something happened.  I honestly think he realized he was completely FREE.  No long line. And within .063 seconds, he headed for the trail to the lake.  My human futilely called his name, in that fake sweet voice that attempts to hide the the panic she is really feeling.  But no point – he was G-O-N-E.   With my human in hot pursuit.  She saw him stop to poop so she ran faster to try to catch up to him.  He started running mid-poop. There was no way he was going to be caught.  So down he raced to the lake.  And on the way, my human picked up some rocks.  As he approached the water, she tossed one in, thinking he would stop to look at what it was, and she could grab him. Wrongo.  She made a big splash with the rock and instead of him standing on shore to look at it, he went in the water to get a closer look. And that was it.  No getting him out.  Every time he got within reach of my human, he would back up in the water.  At one point he came out – but wet dogs have an unusual “super speed” that is extra hard to control.  He dashed. And darted.  And she could not get near him.  And when she almost did, he ran back into the water.  And then he decided to wade in the water along the shore. Further along, past our place, the shoreline grasses are pretty tall, and my human had visions of ticks waiting to jump onto her legs. Not that she has seen any – but one never knows.  So at that point she stomped back to the house – to get rubber boots and a leash.  She no sooner came out the door with leash in hand, and around the corner of the house came a wet, scary looking creature, who had clearly run through a swampy area.  He immediately changed direction as soon as he saw her. This time he was headed up toward the neighbors’.  She opened the garage door and jumped in the car. And she wasn’t forty feet from the door when she saw him hiding in the bushes.  She stopped the car and he ran around it.  She got out and calmly opened the rear hatch, and he raced around to get in.  Busted.  She grabbed his collar and matched him back to the garage where he was put in the tub and the swamp remnants were thoroughly rinsed off.. And then he faced the airplane jet engine dryer.  He didn’t care – he loves the thing.  He stands there with his hair blowing and his head held high – like he’s in some kind of shampoo commercial.  In his mind, it was a GREAT time all around.  
For my human, this is not exactly the relaxing evening she had planned.   I’m thinking that the FG will once again be playing fetch on the long line.  Until he again trains my human to let him loose….
Have a good one!  Peace and paws up!

A herding test…



Well my human has done it again.  We’ll see what happens THIS time.  Sometimes I think she is just a glutton for punishment.  What has she done?  She has entered the FG in a herding instinct test at the end of the month.   

We know that for Einstein and I, the instinct test fee was not exactly money well spent.  Remember?  First Einstein went in the pen for the test and just glared at my human.  He’s not really one to enjoy a fenced-in muddy pen.  And yet he HAD been with sheep when he was younger – so my human THOUGHT he would be interested.   He kind of liked sheep.  “Kind of” being the operative words.  My human actually found video footage of his first encounter.  And it really wasn’t all THAT exciting.  But after he was given some time – and was walked around the sheep – he DID catch on.  These photos show those results.





But for the test?  Nope.  Maybe it was performance anxiety.  After he failed the test, she then brought ME in.  And she had really high hopes for me.  My performance?  Ditto.  I sat in the middle of the pen like a stuffed PON.

So then remember how she decided that maybe if I went without Einstein to a test that MAYBE I would do better?  So several weeks later she entered me in another test.  And she drove over an hour again to get there.  And she was all excited.  And the result was EXACTLY the same.  I sat in the pen and stared at her.  We didn’t even get our allotted 15 minutes of test time.  The judges, for some reason, remembered me from my previous performance.  They said to take me home and love me.  But don’t bother buying any sheep. 

So now it’s the FG’s turn.  And while we know his mother was great with sheep, we are not holding out any high hopes.  My human can’t bear to have her dreams dashed yet again.  So she says she is going in with absolutely NO expectations.  Good plan.  I mean I’m not suggesting she should aim low – but the reality is that either we WANT to chase the sheep.  Or we don’t.   My human’s excuse was that we had obedience training – so we didn’t like to work away from her.  Bwhahahahaha.  I don’t think anyone bought it – but it made HER feel better.  

In the meantime, I suggest she start playing some sheepherding videos on the TV.  Maybe he’ll get the idea.  Honestly, I think she should sell tickets to watch him.  She will DEFINITELY need to have someone take some video.  Finally a chance for a viral video.  I can hardly wait…

Have a good one!  Peace and paws up!

Outsmarting picky Picards. For now.

OK so I just don’t get this Picky Picard thing.   Being picky about food is SO foreign to the PONs in this house – it’s like saying grooming is a FUN thing to do.  My human THOUGHT she had outsmarted the FG by doing things like adding parmesan to his food.  Or adding other tasty treats like bits of dried liver.  Or by feeding him by hand.  Or by changing his food.  And all of those tactics DID work.  For a day or two.  But on Thursday, I honestly thought my human was going to cry.   None of the tactics worked – and he refused to eat.  Yes – she knows you can put his food down and take it away after 10-15 minutes.  But the problem is, I then OBSESS over that food bowl.  It’s put in the garage – but honestly, I KNOW it is in there.  So I stand and stare at the garage door.  Constantly.  And I squeak.  And moan. 

Sometimes if the FG doesn’t eat his breakfast, my human puts his bowl in his run with him if she goes out, and he generally eats it while she is out.   But Thursday he picked out the dried liver and spread the rest of his kibble around his run.  And neither the hand feeding or parmesan worked when she returned.  Even begging did not work.  And not to worry – he is NOT sick.  He has tons of energy and WILL eat treats.  Or garbage along the side of the road if my human isn’t paying attention while they walk.

So she didn’t know WHAT to do. One thing she did notice was that when she takes him on his walks, he is always happy to be rewarded for good walking with a piece or two of kibble.  So she tried something yesterday morning… She basically FILLED her pockets with the amount of food the FG would usually get for breakfast.  And every now and then, on the walk, she would stop and offer him some.  Which he happily ate.  So my clever human was able to feed him his entire meal, as they walked along.  BINGO.  She has outsmarted him again.  But we’ll see how long THIS lasts.

Never a dull moment.  Ever….

Happy Saturday!!!!!

Peace and paws up!